Earlier in ministry, I wanted to be like the well-known guys. I wanted large followings, denominational titles, a large salary, and all the accolades that go with it. Now that I’m almost 37, and I don’t care about any of it. I am a divorced and remarried pastor (which does not set well with those from my former denomination). I do not pastor a large church. I don’t have biceps bigger than my head or a 6-pack. I’m a no-frills kind of guy. 

As I have gotten older, I have discovered how pretentious many pastors can be. They will be quick to offer to help you then ignore your calls. I have nothing to offer these guys, so I would be so lucky if they were to speak to me in a dark corner at Walmart.

Why is it? I’m obviously no threat to them. They are busy building their own kingdom, and I can’t help them advance it. It’s sad, really. It isn’t sad from my perspective, because I am glad to not be entangled with those who have built denominational monuments unto themselves. I just know that one day when they can no longer help someone else, they will find themselves abandoned also.

I am reminded of when the disciples argued about who was the greatest. They had it all wrong. Approximately 2,000 years later, not much has changed. Now we have social media to advance these leaders in their self-made kingdoms. 

To those who feel like you and your work means little to your community or your audience of just a few, you have a Savior who is looking down and saying, “Well done, good and faithful servant!” He isn’t impressed with the guy who climbed the denominational ladder by pretending to care about people. Every one of us will be judged according to our personal works. Walk in humility. The proud will soon come to a fall. When they do, be the one who is loving enough to restore them to a place of humility and more genuine impact. I can guarantee God will bless that.

Leave Me Alone! I’m Building My Kingdom Here!

Leave a Reply

