• I know you want to. SeriouDgsly, many of you have probably been on one without your consent. Someone came along and told you that you should be ashamed of yourself for telling the church nominating committee no when they asked you to teach the youth or how the wrath of God was going to be poured out on you because you missed a church service. 

While sometimes God does call us to bring something to someone’s attention, Scripture says that it is the goodness of God that leads people to repentance. A genuine Christian has the Holy Spirit who will convict a person of sin. Those who do not have a relationship with Christ will be convicted by the Holy Spirit of their sinful condition and drawn to repentance and faith in Christ. 

Someone recently asked me how I go about converting my hospice patients. My answer: “I don’t. I am simply the messenger. I tell people how to have a relationship with God through Jesus Christ. God does a much better job working in their hearts than I do.” I can tell multiple stories of how God worked in changing hearts. I was never forceful. I never used scare tactics or made anyone feel guilty, and God still drew them to the point of salvation. 

You might have someone in your family who dreads being around you because you constantly hound them about their need for Jesus or their need to quit some sinful lifestyle. The greater thing to do is pray that God will change their hearts. Acts 9 records the story of God radically changing a man who killed Christians. That man ended up becoming a follower of Christ and writing most of the New Testament.

You may be an addict, a thief, a murderer, or a sex offender, but you are never too far gone that Jesus can’t change you. God will never force you to Himself. He lovingly draws you by the Holy Spirit through the message of the gospel. To those who guilt trip, I will say this as lovingly as possible – Please step back, pray, and let God do His perfect work. Then give Him the glory when your prayer is answered.

Anyone Want to Go on a Spiritual Guilt Trip?

Leave a Reply

