So- You Plan On Moving On Up To The Average Do You? Wow! Shooting For The Stars..(* Recommended Reading- By Me)

You may notice I recommeded this right? But its my own writing! I know, I just put down a new standard. You will understand soon..

What Or Who Are We Really Trying To Be?

Someone recently askied me this ” did you know that the post I read of yours today was xxxx  amount of words? That’s like 1200 more than the average post, I am just letting you know..”

I looked her and shook my head smirking…I said ” I know ain’t that insane nobody but me has figured out about how long a post should be, what a shame”

Now, we are friends and I was picking up what she was trying to put down. However there is a grain of truth in what I said. Not about ME being the standard, but who has the right to set a ” standard”  anyhow and is that what we are all striving for?

Can you imagine going into a job interview and when the boss says ” tell me what your ambitions are, your dreams and what you are striving to be?” So you sit up, chest out, and firmly and proudly say ” well sir , I am striving to be the average at what  I do, I believe I have what it takes to meet the ” standard”.  As a matter fact sir I currently am almost dead even with the other professionals at everything I do!

Wow- You are Hired! Right ? Is that what you would hope to hear? I would not hold your breath! Lol.. Yet Do we even realize or know what we are striving to be? Can you identify what your goal to attain really is? Is it to be ” as good as so and so” you’r professional hero? If so you might want to step it up a notch. What good is it for me to finally climb Mt. Everest just to stand on top and proudly say YES! Today I am as good as all those who stood before me! I am now rolling in the same class with some pretty higher-ups!

Wow- good for you. You  have just proven that you are capable of doing something so awesome, so incredible and so top-notch that you can now say you are just like the rest who accomplished the very same thing…lol.

You have noticed in the last 25 years or so we have plowed into, stayed in and are even trying to go further a humongous initiative to get everything done FAST!

1- Fast Food

2-Fast Books

3- Fast Travel

4-Fast EVERYTHING!

I am not exaggerating in this sense. About any ad these days for almost anything has something to do with the speed that we can get it  ” over with” …

So lets look quickly at what its done for us..

1-Fast Food- No more family dinner time at 6 no matter what where our whole posse gets together and talks about our day. Its has really reversed that into us being with our ” new ” families – coworkers almost all day, and talking about what fast food we ate by ourselves for lunch…

2- Fast travel Well, the old adage ” stop and smell the roses” is not gone totally- but the most roses have taken other jobs or are secretly looking around I think! Business is not what it once was. I was looking at my grandmother’s picture collection a few months ago. My grandfather was an incredible man. He worked 50 years as an accountant at Mobile oil after coming here from Germany at age 7 with no English language skills. He was made fun of and all but he pressed on to become one of the most awesome husbands and men in general I have ever known.

Each year at Mobile after he became fairly successful, he got a bonus. He loved to golf and had lots of cool hobbies he could have spent that on. But no matter what it was a tradition that he used his bonus to send my grandmother and a few friends of her choice on a cruise of her choice. And he was proud to do it. In the last years those cruises became world cruises! A real treat for granny and her girls. So as I looked through her albums I noticed that besides having an album for each years cruise, they were filled with pictures for each stop, each port, each special city of all the ladies smiling and laughing.

My first thought was wow, they were the standard. That’s when they did stop for each rose, they did eat together, they did make any speed in life acceptable only if it would bring them back together quicker when they were separated for any reason. Missing a dinner as a family was a bummer. My grandparents were married almost 60 years. You know what-it wasn’t rare back in their day. Today I am waiting for someone to come out with a webinar on How to marry 6x in 60 years- without leaving work-lol…

So here is my point. Not everything that glitters is platinum. I know I know gold..but that’s changed too. Some changes have been great, trains , planes and all allow us to enjoy more of  life that is if that’s what we use it for. I could go on past fast food, books, microwaves, an all that forever. I don’t think the majority of our need for speed has been the best for our families and health. However once again we created another monster we cannot feed.

Looking at the rates of the family breakdown alone is depressing. I am not saying our obsession with rushing through life has desroyed our families…wait yes I am saying that.

Don’t let the ” standard ” define you. You define the standard.

Wow, that was pretty good stuff! I am going to recommend this to a few of my friends .  WHAT ? Whats the look for?

Oh, OOPS– that’s not really, well appropriate is it? Pushing my own stuff.

Well excellent then! I will do it.

I have just set a new standard!

Make a note of that in your book of standards before you forget.

Now- how about you go and set your own standard today. But whatever you do , don’t you dare do a word count on your or my posts! LOL

I am out-

tj

 

Leave a Reply

