Over and over in the media we hear and see it. The constant reminder of the current drug epidemic in our world. Its true, we have a huge problem – especially in the area of opiates and heroin. Here is the question that rolls through my mind whenever I read one of the  ” young man  dies from apparent overdose” headlines; Who caused the accident? Are so many people who use drugs today so low functioning that they ” accidentally ” shoot up 3x too much – or take 10 more pills then they know is lethal? I doubt it.

So what could it be? I ll tell you in a minute. First let me give you an example of another scenario. I know of a guy who came home from the hospital after some major surgery. The first night home he reached for his prescribed medicines. There was a narcotic pain killer, an anti-inflammatory, a sleep aide ( ambien, I believe) , blood thinners, and 1-2 other insignificant ones. He took his medicine as prescribed.

Within 4 hours he was outside ( 2:30am) -yard hopping, hiding behind big areas of grass ( he called them bunkers), lying on his stomach and ” defending his country – so he thought. Hours later when the ” war” was over he went to the local 7-11 where he was sure the secret service planned to pick him up ( undercover) to take him to see President Bush, who was going to present him an award for outstanding bravery. It gets even crazier but I think you all get the point. Plus, I don’t want anyone to figure out that the man in the story is me..

In my case the doctor called it a  ” rare drug interaction ” and switched my medications.

Here is my point; if I had been found dead, or God forbid committed a crime during that ” experience” there is no question that the headline would have read something like this ” man on drugs goes on war rampage” or ” man checked into psychiatric unit after apparent drug overdose”. You get the point.

Its way too easy for doctors or law enforcement to lead the public to false conclusions to protect what may incriminate them…

tj

Accidental Overdose…( But Who’s Accident)

Leave a Reply

