You Really Think Your Efforts Make Any Real Difference? Get A Grip.

Gene Kelly was told he couldn’t dance for most of his first auditions. 

Walt Disney was told he just did not have the imagination needed to make it in advertising.

After a performance at the Grand Ole Opry,  Elvis Presley was told he’d be better off to go to Memphis and become a truck driver.

Albert Einstein didn’t  speak until he was 4 did not read until he was 7. Eventually came around.

Lucille Ball was  considered a b -actress and it was recommended she become a secretary.

Jerry Seinfeld was fired after a small part in the sitcom Benson.He was so bad they didn’t notify him but when he showed up for his next read through he wasn’t included in the script, then figured it out.

Abraham Lincoln started several businesses that were total failures.He ran many times for office and failed before becoming president

 Marilyn Monroe was urged to consider another career in modeling or acting as she didn’t seem to have the talent

Steve Jobs was fired from his own company.

Hopefully you’re catching the drift here. Trailblazers and leaders rarely get support from their peers -especially from insecure ones. If you are planning on making a difference in whatever your passion is you better get a grip. 

If you plan on actually pressing through the negativity,  the doubt and  haters you better hold on tight and get a grip on what it is you plan on doing just like the above people did and hundreds and hundreds of others have done. 

If you have followed me for any length of time or you can just read my homepage and  know some of the passion I have for certain issues.

Ive  spent a couple decades working in and living through some of these things and have a pretty good understanding of what’s wrong in our system.

 Just the other day as I was presenting an idea to  a colleague I was caught off-guard when I was asked the following question.

 “What are you trying to do to change the world?”

At that moment I froze- and knew I was at a crossroads.

I had to make a decision. Did I really believe what I was saying- that I could actually do this and make a difference or would I take the easy way out and fall back into sheeple position and be a follower?

So after careful thought I said “yes I do think I will change the world” I didn’t know it at the time but question was really  important for me. I needed to know if I really believed in what I was doing.

 Do you really believe you can make a change- do you have a grip?

Tj

Leave a Reply

