Memo To All Non-Believers In Christ-From Us Christians-Our Bad.

10616149_10152908852638324_339800007471134323_nIts been on my heart and mind a lot that the pulpit and many Christians are totally pushing people away from God. New Christians like to pretend their problems have suddenly gone away, they have no sin, and they are too good to hang with old dirty friends.
What is even more discouraging, is that Jesus never paid attention to the ” good doers” or the righteous ones who thought they had it all together. He went directly to the hopeless, the helpless, the prostitutes, drunkards, thieves. Not to encourage them to keep sinning, but to give them the news that they no longer had to be in bondage to sin, as He had come to take our place and pay the price for it all.
Today, it is difficult to find a church that teaches that truth, the teaching seems more like a list of sins you may no longer be a part of as a Christian. How stupid. We all struggle with sin. We don’t have what it takes to overcome the sins out there. The idea is that when we receive the forgiveness and mercy of Christ and realize the work on the cross paid it all- we understand that only by His power can we change. I would burn out in a month if I tried in my own power to never sin. But when I spend time in Gods Word, and with people who know Him, I feel things dropping off me, bondages, sins, hang ups, etc.
So, let me tell you, if you are the nastiest, most vile sinner around and would be ashamed to set foot in a church, you are the kind of person God wants. You just get in there, He will clean you up!
In closing, the most powerful, useful, mighty men God used in Bible times, were once the most ugly, murderous, hideous, and disgusting men. But God knew, that if He changed their hearts, many would come to know the Grace of God. All are welcome, and nobody is too much in sin. When we die- God will look at 1 thing only to determine our eternal destiny. Are we covered by the blood of Jesus, that washed away our sin. Or, did we reject Him on earth, and now must spend eternity apart from God. I don’t know about you but this offer God has made to us is a no brainer. You think about that!
tj
http://www.dontlabelmykid.com

Published by: www.dontlabelmykid.wordpress.com

I am a social worker and family coach for 20+ years. I have had around 50 foster kids , worked in every and any type of facility from juvenile centers to clinical treatment centers to schools for expelled youth . I've been successful with starting schools for violent offenders , training hospital staff , entire counties of public school teachers, parents and many more on behavior management and helping families in trouble . I have been honored to speak on many occasions and to teach professionals what is wrong with our systems for kids and adults, and how I was able to have successful outcomes in all the programs that I ran. And yes- I do have all the accolades and awards and pats on the back from high places and degrees but I'm not in this for that recognition. I appreciate the acknowledgement I've received over the years, but I don't even have an " I love me" wall in the office..so I don't even know where those things are anymore ..LOL I have lived a hard life myself and grew up in a very violent and abusive home. My family Is filled with depression , addiction and suicide. I also have had to navigate my way through these areas . I use my own experience to help others. I hope you will join the awesome people who follow me and share their stories. This Is a place to come to keep it real. We all struggle . So on this site we keep it legit. No judgement. What are you waiting for? Follow! tj

Categories At Risk Families, For mental health workers, Labelling Kids, Motivation, Parenting, Self worth, Why do we think and believe what we do?Tags, , , , , , , , , , , , 12 Comments

12 thoughts on “Memo To All Non-Believers In Christ-From Us Christians-Our Bad.”

    1. LOL! Funny you say that. The only ink I have on me has significant meaning and I would not be ashamed to be seen with them. My children’s initials, a crown of thorns, my wife’s name over my heart- etc.. I am not a fan of just coloring yourself up with ink either.

      Like

  1. Thanks Boon- I hope nobody mistakes what I am trying to convey for a license to sin either. I am for sure not saying that. I am saying that we simply have zero power to transform our lives, where as the Holy Spirit has what it takes. Thanks for the comment-
    tj

    Like

  2. “So, let me tell you, if you are the nastiest, most vile sinner around and would be ashamed to set foot in a church, you are the kind of person God wants. You just get in there, He will clean you up!”
    Amen. Here’s to works in progress. Really well said.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That’s exactly the issue. Many times people avoid going to church because they feel that they are too bad to even enter the doors. What they don’t realize and what many Christians don’t readily admit to, is that the people inside were once just as bad and *still* struggle daily. The only difference is that Christians have God to help them and their faith keeps them from stressing as much as they used to. God’s power over our lives is amazing IF we allow Him to work on us. As far as God calling the most serious of sinners to do His work – you are absolutely right about that. He knew that by the changes He would make in their life that they would jump at the chance to serve Him. Unfortunately, some people are “too good” for God to use. People should know that they can and should go to God just how they are. Jesus is the only One who can make them clean.

    Like

  4. “we understand that only by His power can we change.” Agree with you 100% that we are chasing people away from Christ. We are to make disciples, but we can only do that through our actions; through the love and grace of Jesus, which comes through us from his Spirit.

    I fear we sometimes rely on our words to “convert” rather than relying upon the love of God to transform hearts and minds. Love comes first. Always.

    Great post.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment and compliment. I feel like I spent decades avoiding God, and never got any real peace until I accepted the fact that I was a sinner and that Christ invites anyone to be forgiven. It sounds weird, but I was excited when I figured out I was a sinner! Then I realized I could receive the forgiveness I needed with humility. Pride hindered much for me anyway.

      Like

      1. “It sounds weird, but I was excited when I figured out I was a sinner!” Doesn’t sound weird at all. Until we figure out we need Him, we don’t open the door for Him to walk through. And He only comes by invitation. His gifts of love, mercy and grace are truly like an ocean – we can’t begin to fathom the extend until we get in the water.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good points. I have spent years trying to accept the fact that I am forgiven, and that God fulfills His Word- mainly because I associated my earthly father with my heavenly Father. Also, Oswald Chambers said it in a way I love- ” The only lover of Jesus Christ is the Holy Spirit…we are not capable in our flesh to love God because of our sin nature, but when we receive Christ we receive the Holy Spirit, and we choose who to feed daily, the Holy Spirit, or the world. I love Oswald and Watchman Nee.

        Like

Leave a Reply

