What Should We Be Telling Our Children About The Crazy Things They See in This World Everyday?

Wow. Not a day goes by that one of my kids don’t point at something then ask me ” why are they doing that “- it used to be a once in awhile thing but in the last decade or 2 things have changed.These days we are not debating if they are old enough to get an earring . I think about the changes being very carefully introduced into society that 20 years ago would not be discussed, yet today things of that nature are commonplace.

I notice that with all the changes most parents try to avoid contact or any accountability. Do any parents ( like me) still cry in bed once in awhile at what our children face each day? I pray that my kids would be so aware of what is right and wrong that their convictions would overpower their temptations.I think each day about how they will handle not flying into la-la land each day believing that what they see in this world is good just because that’s what people are doing. I happen to be a believer. I am a Christian who is is fortunate enough to have been taught the tools of the church (Bible). Even my smaller children recognize sin when they see it, once in a while in our home and out.

I am not preaching the Gospel here, but I am suggesting that you have a home base for all.

In order to do this as parents, we must  model and participate in the types of things we wish for them to learn. I am opposed to sheltering our children from whats out there, as they need to see the consequences of our actions. However today’s world is no longer even realistic, and sometimes it is straight up nasty, and the people who support the nasty  are those high in office. Big problems for us parents. We have got to avoid the mistake of trusting what popular political figures are lighting a spark to so that our kids avoid the inferno ahead.

Please comment with any ideas you have found helpful!

tj

11 thoughts on “What Should We Be Telling Our Children About The Crazy Things They See in This World Everyday?”

  1. You are right on mark with this one. I’m finding parenting to be very difficult. My values and the worlds values are not adding up and somehow I have become the closed minded bad guy and God is a hypocrite. I pray in time my kids will figure things out. I gave them a solid core and now whatever they grow into is up to them. It’s scary and makes me sad but it’s a battle almost impossible to fight 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know I used to think that way, as if I was paddling upstream and every mistake I made I went backwards 100 yards! Here is what gives me comfort and assurance. I am speaking from a Christian standpoint, just so nobody gets offended. When I was little, my mom use to make scripture cookies and give them to me and my friends…lol
      THAT is embarrassing. Then another woman who helped me growing up kept repeating the scripture about training a child up in the way they should go. and they will not depart from those ways. I laughed about those religious nuts for years. Until one day, all my crutches, friends, money, drugs, had left me. I was lonely and scared. It was that day I returned to the ways I was trained up in. God’s timetable is not adjustable. At the pointed time, if we do what we know to do, it will work out. Dont give up!
      tj

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

