I Don’t Know Everything About Kids. I Do Know Enough About Treatment Options That Can Prevent Years Of Heartache.

expertsThe last few years have been interesting for me. I didnt don’t know how receptive people would be to reaching out for help with personal issues like parenting or mental health.

I have been amazed at the transparency and willingness of people to share their dilemmas.

Folks, there is nothing you can tell me or ask me about that I haven’t personally experienced in my social work career or my own family.

I hope that would never stop anyone from reaching out. I do need to make something clear though. I am a trained, degreed social worker. I am not a psychiatrist,  psychologist,  or medical doctor. Although I used to watch HOUSE alot…so maybe a little knowledge there.

Anyhow what I have studied for 20 years is not how to master a one fits all profession where everyone who walks through the door gets a diagnoses. I have learned how the effects of the treatments have worked, and been able to get a good handle on where the loopholes in our system are.

I know enough about all treatments to see if they do what they commit to with the kids I have worked with.

Right up front I want to say I am not anti-psychiatry or anti-mental health. I am just against the abuse of the mental health profession that is driven by  financial gain.

Most clinicians I have worked with have the best interest of the child at heart. However , a small percentage of practitioners are led astray by the bllions of dollars the drug companies make and generously share with those who use their products.

Most people don’t know that America is one of the only countries in the world that even allows drug companies to advertise on television.  Everyone needs a pill. We all have a disorder and they are making more up all the time, and coincidently the drug companies seem to have a new designer pill to treat the disorder that just became public!

Without getting to deep into it, I just want to mention that all these new drugs that come out just in time to treat the new disorders are supposed to be run through rigorous clinical trials that prove the drug to be more effective then what is out already.

For a good laugh, look up some of clinical trials, where and how they took place, and how they measured results.

Here is an illustration from the food industry that is similar. You are walking through the grocery store and trying to eat healthier. You spot a bag of chips that says 90% LESS fat!

You grab it and think you are on your way to health. The truth is that the 90% they put on there in bold letters could mean 90% less fat than 25 cheeseburgers. They don’t have to mention that part.

In the same way you need to monitor your medicines, if you actually need them.

Recently my relative was prescribed Crestor for cholesterol.  250.00$.

The fact is that Lipitor does the same job and costs 20 bucks. But Lipitor makers don’t have the advantage thar Crestor does. New drugs are patented.  They can charge as much as they want and nobody can make a generic cheaper version.

Does anyone really question it? Not really because we believe what we see on television. We assume the doctor is always right.

Do your homework on mental health medicines and all others.

I just want to make it clear that although I have been able to steer many hundreds of families in the right direction,  I am not going to diagnose anything.

I am in a unique position with my experience and love to help people avoid unnecessary heartache.

So even though I may act like I have all the answers on occasion, I just have a niche. I like to help people avoid pain that I have seen or that I have suffered.

  • Tj

,

Leave a Reply

