Tough Question My 8 Year Old Asked Me At Subway…

After school I usually pick up my baby daughter and grab some lunch or do something like go walk on the beach. Today it was Subway and it all seemed pretty vanilla to me. Small talk, nothing heavy, when all of the sudden she breaks out with this ” What happened to Miley Cyrus?”

” Miley Cyrus? I said, umm what about her?” My daughter went on to ask me how she went from being a teen Disney character on a popular teen show to a out of control, no limits, anything goes, young woman. I was stuck. Do I blame it on Billy Ray and ” Dont Break My Heart”? Maybe I should say she got hooked on drugs and went a little crazy. The truth is, I don’t know what happened.

All I know is that I cannot allow any Miley around the girls anymore. This is not a post judging Miley Cyrus by the way, it is about how to explain the world we live in and how much control we should maintain over what our kid’s watch and listen too. I have always been a big believer in reality. Not just reality, but getting the reality to my kids before it finds them.

When my boys were young, I took them to some of the juvenile facilities I worked at. I exposed them to both sides and the consequences of both sides. It seemed to have worked out well, so I stick with it. Here is the thing, if a parent never points out the wrong in society, and just keeps calling it ” tolerance”, you may have a big problem when your child becomes an adult.

I ended up asking my daughter if she would like to live that kind of life, that Miley is living. I left it in her hands for the moment. After some thought, she just shook her head no and made a weird face. I did not threaten her or tell her she better never be like that. That does not work. What does seem to work is every once in a while, expose your children to the good and the bad, and the consequences of both.

There is good and bad, by the way. Right and wrong do exist. Not everyone agrees on what it is, but at some point we need to grow a back bone and tell our children what is for sure wrong. Don’t be one of the parents who goes with the flow and accepts anything the media throws out as acceptable. That is weak parenting.

None of us are perfect parents, but we have got to bring our children up to speed on what is happening in this world. Don’t let your own blood fall prey to the dark things that are invading this world. You are not doing them any favors. I still don’t know why Miley Cyrus ended up in rehab or wherever she is. One thing is for sure, I wont let my 8 year old think it is the path to take.

tj

Leave a Reply

