Dont Tell My Head It Cant Be Done- My Heart Already Saw It. ( Take That Idea And Go For It!)

If you are a person that goes through the day wondering how to make something new or different happen, I can relate. It seems like no matter where I am I am always trying to think of a way to make something better then it is. I used to think of myself as critical but I later learned that I was just a creative person. I even did a few tests on gifts, and what gifts I have. I was even figuring out how to make the test questions more effective while I was taking the test. Anyhow they all say I am a creative, right brained thinker.

In real terms, this means I hate things that are mundane and similar. I get bored easy and if I had to do the job of an accountant or sit at a desk all day and analyze trends on a graph sheet, I am the guy that would have little drawings all over the paper. I lean back on 2 feet in my chair and cannot stay focused on something I am not into for more then 2-3 minutes before I find an excuse to get up and take a walk. One of my jobs involved managing 60 people and training them on working with children with behavior issues. Since I developed the training and was excited to deliver it to my staff, I could stay focused. However when I had to spend a day training them on some required state guidelines on HIPPA laws I found myself taking breaks every 20 minutes or so just go splash water on my face or get a snack.

My attention span has always been short and I have never been good at repetitive tasks that did not involve any creative thinking. People like me are often criticized by other colleagues, accused of being rude or uninterested in what others are doing. Really I just have a hard time getting excited when someone is trying to explain to me why water towers are shaped like they are.  I am a bottom line guy, and I usually skip to the end of the topic and ask the speaker  ” So whats the bottom line” – This never sits well and its even worse when my wife needs me to listen to something that happened to her today and I jump in with the bottom line tag…

I have matured some, so I don’t just interrupt people and appear rude. I will now usually use my creative side and say something like  ” Wow- this is an amazing topic. Is this in any way related to the other one that we all heard just 2 days ago? It seems similar, but I am not sure if it is exactly the same…but whatever the case, keep it coming! Good stuff! ” – Usually when I lay it out like that, whoever is doing the talking seems to speed things up as they somehow feel a little guilty like they may be repeating something that we all just heard not too long ago…I know it seems terrible, but its the best I have.

Well, whether you are the analytical type, the creative type or something totally different, this post applies to us all. I am writing about moving forward with our ideas. We all have ideas that we wonder how they work and new ways to do things we would like to try. However 99% of the time, none of our ideas go any further then our minds, We either don’t think they are worthy of pressing in on, or we don’t want to risk the chance of looking stupid if it fails. So, right now take a minute and think of an idea you had or have that you never followed through on. Use that idea to think about as you finish this article.

An example for me is an idea I had years ago, that I came up with when I was driving to Orlando one morning to work, sitting in traffic, and trying to read the morning paper. I was so very frustrated, every time I got into an article I would have to inch up a few hundred feet only to stop again..By the time I found my place again, of course the line of traffic would move again. It was pure irritation. My idea was that each time I went into the 7-11 for my coffee and paper, I imagined myself picking up my coffee and a CD. That’s right, a CD. I had the idea to start reading the newspaper onto a disc as soon as it came off the presses at 3am. After it was recorded, I would have it duplicated on a high speed machine that could make 10,000 an hour. The CD’s would be packaged quickly and delivered by many drivers to all the local convenient stores by 5 am.

All the people who enjoyed coffee and the morning paper but had to drive a long way to work, could now sip the coffee, and slip in a CD which would read the news to them. If they didnt want to hear a story that was on, they could skip it just like you would a song. Nice, right? I thought so. The problem was I had no money, no idea how to get it going, and no time to work on it. So, the dream has remained just a dream. I still think about it, but just wondering if it would sell, not as something I would try now. My point here is that I had an idea that I think has potential, but not for me. It may work for another person with other resources but not for me.

Years passed and one day I was at a school I was running – and  I said to a mother of a child I had helped with some problems ” Don’t Label My Kid!”. At the time I was just answering a question she asked me about what to tell her sons doctor if he wanted to give him a mental health diagnoses. But it stuck with me for 10 years. A few years ago I saw it in my mind again spinning around, ended up starting a website by that name, and now it is a phrase that I use all the time and so do many hundreds of people I associate with. It was right for me, it was within my limits and it had a meaning.

If you have an idea that you have been kicking around, go for it. Don’t worry about what anyone will think, just ask yourself if it has a meaning, and if its right for you. Don’t let anyone discourage you. Go for it and see what happens. Most times people who discourage you are afraid themselves, so ignore them and just do it!  Don’t be a person who lives the rest of your life wondering what would have happened if…just do it now. I have no idea who this is for, but someone must need to hear this today -so let me know whoever you all are! I expect a good report!

Tj

2 thoughts on “Dont Tell My Head It Cant Be Done- My Heart Already Saw It. ( Take That Idea And Go For It!)

Leave a Reply

