What I Want To Do When I Grow Up…

Outpatient therapist, Mentor Program Coordinator, Program Manager, Assistant Director, Family Teacher, Senior Center Manager. – these are some of the professional titles I have had since graduating college.

Bathroom partition installer, Federal Express dispatcher, deli clerk, phone solicitor for Encyclopedia Britannica, dolphin trainer,UPS semi-truck worker.- Jobs I held before college.

So I have decided to make a change. I want to try something that will actually benefit my family and my finances instead of only those i help as a social worker. I have worked the 80 hour a week deal, been on-call for those that suffer from mental health issues and need emergency assistance. I have worked most of my jobs way underpaid and way over worked  

So I am interested in trying something that will allow me to enjoy my family and still be able to support them.The problem is that I don’t know where to begin looking . I did speak to someone in the auto industry recently and it seemed interesting to me simply because most of the people I talked to in it are doing well, and I could use some ” doing well”  about now. The idea of making good money without the stress of constant mental health issues to tend to, and constant financial struggles because social workers and therapists do not make a decent wage, is appealing.

So here I am in limbo wondering what I should do. What is God’s plan for my life? What am I supposed to do with the second half of my life? Do I need a break from mental health and working with everyone’s troubles? I think it has slowly eaten away at me and it seems like a good time to look into something else. I don’t know, maybe I am just having an episode of anxiety -after all I do ” have” generalized anxiety disorder. Perhaps I am in a depressive episode -I do ” have” major depressive disorder. Although my PTSD could be kicking in. Who knows though, sometimes I think my other personality is speaking lately. Oh well, I am just glad I didn’t get too caught up in all the labels and DSM assignments like some of the others.

Tj                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

2 thoughts on “What I Want To Do When I Grow Up…

Leave a Reply

