Addiction Series- Hate The Addiction-Love The Addict

When it comes to addiction, we as a society get a solid F for handling the problem. The way addicts are treated is much like the way the homeless are dealt with, just  give them some directives to get it together, offer little help, and wait for them to resurface only to repeat the same directives. I guess we just are dull when it comes to actually being proactive in helping these people. First off, agencies and professionals could recognize addicts as humans with a disease, not simply people who make bad choices. They could also put in place some tools that will actually help the addict escape  the nightmare they want so badly out of.

So far we jail the addict for having drugs, we watch them do a whole lot of nothing in jail and we arrest them again when they get out and start the cycle over. That is hardly cutting edge treatment, I think we treat the actual criminal better than that with many rehab programs and re-entry programs they can enroll in to prepare for their life outside of jail. However with the addict, we continue to be non-committal and do very little to advance them into another phase of their life. It seems we still have not decided how to treat them, like criminals or like people with a disease. Either way the addict is many times stuck out in the cold to defend themselves when their own family, friends and society has labeled them as hopeless or useless.

I think in order for there to be any real change in the system we are going to have to push for an appropriate label to be given to the addict. The label should be born out of a medical mindset since we know that a disease is a disease, as much as we like to try and make it into a matter of the will. Just for a second we should think about the millions of people who pour into AA and NA meetings each day, only to enjoy a 5% success rate. Yes 5%. How about the many rich and famous people who can buy anything they want but continue to be arrested over and over due to some substance they cannot shake. Do we really think that these people prefer being humiliated in the spotlight, losing their children, money and maybe careers simply to have the pleasure of the substance? I think we all understand there must be more to it than that, so now we must live it out in the system and how we help the addict. Lets begin to love the addict and hate the addiction. 

Sid Vicious, Anna Nicole Smith, Whitney Houston, Judy Garland, John Belushi, Michael Jackson, Lenny Bruce, Kurt Cobain, Chris Farley. Is it possible that one or more of these people may be alive today had they been aware that they actually had a medical disease and were treated accordingly? Not to mention the millions of suicides that have occurred as a result of drugs. People who died of cancer surely are remembered in a much more sympathetic light than those who died of an overdose. Should this be?

tj

11 thoughts on “Addiction Series- Hate The Addiction-Love The Addict

  1. Hi Tj, it’s amazing but God helped me again, I know nothing about Technology, believe me it’s a mystery to me but He showed me how to change the page to accept my cut and paste, yes they had changed the settings but I now know how to change them back or bypass them so that I’m able to Post which I did and added your Link.

    There is no need Tj to post these last two comments about my Blog problems, unless you want to but thanks for listening, I really appreciate this, I feel you really care about others not just yourself so I feel I can Trust you, Thank you again.

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Addictions and Deliverance….. | Freedomborn … Aussie Christian Focus

  3. Hi Tj I’m sorry I have not Posted yet with your link but I’m being stopped from doing so by WordPress or someone connected to them, it could be someone using the Gravater this has happened before, I have changed my Passwords a few times so it has to be either them or someone on WordPress Staff if not someone who is using their settings.

    With being Dyslectic it takes me a long time to write a Post, although God gives me the heart thoughts to do so and the Scripture too, He also does this with comments although amazingly with them they do flow unless I cut and paste from answers I have written before about the topic, I even find it very hard to write a personal letter, it took me many years before I could read or write or talk properly but God helped me and still does, He has given me gateways to Blog when I have been stopped from logging on.

    When I’m finished a message to Post, I cut and past it on a new Post page but they have stopped me doing this by adding Custom Design with changed settings and not only to the ones that I have paid for this Upgrade with but even one I haven’t and on a New Blog I made this morning, so it is being done deliberately.

    I feel victimized by WordPress, who also don’t answer when I write for Support and the same with their Security but they are the same people anyway. I did rebuke them for the degrading Ads they were putting on peoples Blogs so they would have to pay for them to be removed and no doubt they were not impressed but with Upgrades I pay for Support so they are robbing me, we live in an evil world Tj

    I needed to share Tj, I hope you understand, I’m not expecting you to do anything in regard to WordPress but please pray that whoever is doing these evil things to me is stopped, it has happened much more than once before.

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Like

  4. Tj I would like to share with you something that amazed me because for years I thought differently it’s in reference to Jesus The Living Word. I won’t explain I’ll just share some Scriptures with you, they explain themselves but please note that there were no small Particles in the early Greek when the Scriptures were written, there were no… A, IS, IT, AS, AT, etc

    John 1:1-5 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

    1John 5:7 For there are Three that bear record in Heaven, The Father, The Word, and The Holy Ghost: and these Three are One.

    Revelation 19:12-17 His Name is called The Word of God. And out of His mouth goeth a sharp sword, ( His Truth ) that with it He should smite the Nations: and He shall rule them with a Rod of iron (The Holy Spirit )

    Hebrews 4:12-13 For the Word of God is quick and powerful and sharper than any two edged sword piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit and of the joints and marrow and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart neither is there any creature that is not manifest in His sight but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with whom we have to do. (KJV )

    John 5: 39 – 40 Search the Scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life and they are they which testify of me. And ye will not come to me, that ye might have life.

    Christian Love – Anne

    Like

  5. Thank you Tj your very kind, I am known by some to be controversial but I do confirm when needed with Scripture, still many Trust in their own understanding. Please don’t hesitate if you feel the need to clarify anything I share.

    I just want to say Tj I have a lot of respect for you, yes with your work but mostly your heart focus, you have a great deal of Love for those who are hurting and little critical judgment, God bless you greatly as you reach out in His empowering, it is in giving that we receive what is of True Eternal value.

    Christian Love in our Unity in Christ Jesus – Anne

    Like

    • Very kind words you have for me , I thank you. It is clear that you back what you say with scripture, and that to me is the single most important thing when it comes to sharing ideas, that they are lining up with scripture. That Word is never returning void and able to divide soul and spirit. How awesome that is.

      Like

  6. Thank you Tj a very revealing message, yes Jesus Loves the sinner and does not condemn them but hates the sin they do because it Hurts Him, others and themselves. Addictions lead to sin, this is why Paul said not to let anything control us, although it’s a choice we make originally to gamble, drink alcohol , smoke , take drugs, overeat or not eat etc , it soon turns into a disease of the mind that controls the will and our physical functioning, is there a permanent way to escape, yes in Christ Jesus, He has set us free from all sins slavery.

    I’m going to Post soon Tj about my own Addictions and was hoping I could use your Links, if it’s OK would you please let me know.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment! I agree. You are welcome to use any part of this blog you like for your post. I have no restrictions on that at all. I really look forward to reading you when you get the posts written!
      tj

      Like

  7. TJ, thanks for your great blog..it goes along with what we of NOPE are teaching in our presentations. Oh, how I wish I had known all of this 7 years ago….maybe I could have saved my Sarah!

    Like

    • Thank you but no ma’am can you take responsibility for anyone elses actions. You are doing an incredible work saving the lives of future generations. She is proud and so am I.
      Tj

      Like

Leave a Reply

