Wake Up- You Have A Life To Live!

Dazed, confused, bewildered, amazed, anxious and a flood of emotions are gnawing and clawing at you from inside out. You have been defeated and broken; busted and disgusted and the time has come to give up. It is the dark night of the soul and the midnight hour. Months even years of pressing on in hope, in faith that things would change and be better, Tears and sweat collide as you try to cry but cant find the moisture in your eyes as your body is folding while your mind is crawling through a wall of fog that you know leads to nowhere. It really is over and there is no escape hatch, nobody to rescue you and everyone around you seems to be staring at you but oblivious to your silent pleas for help…

Being at the end of a marathon faith season, or tougher than nails time of pressing on through constant pain and suffering in your life can be traumatic and seemingly an endless spiral of distant and dark negatives that pop up in front of you one after the other until your very soul is shaking in desperation and the taste of tears rolling onto your lips is common but deep inside you feel even the well of tears drying up as if to add insult to a horrific injury.

In a hazy state I leaned over my steering wheel dripping with the sweat and tears that were hard pressed to even present themselves as a drought deep down inside was nearing. I could lift my head enough up to look through the dirty windshield and mutter the words ” I cant ” as I slowly lowered my head back to the wheel and hoped that I would wake up from a bad dream and shake this off. This was no dream – this was my dark night in the soul and nearing midnight. It wasn’t about ” plan B ” as I had exhausted it and I wasn’t waiting for help because it wasn’t coming. A defining moment it seemed, so I fell back in my seat and tried to stick the key into the ignition to drive my way out of this nightmare. Click, click, click….that sound pounded my head as I realized not even the car would start at this point. It was really, really over this time as I had no words even, no strength even to utter a prayer in this time of exhaustion and discouragement.
I opened the door and wandered into an office building where a newly made acquaintance was working and stumbled down into the chair in front of his desk.
I tried to say something but the words wouldn’t come forward in my weakness. My new friend seemed to know of the urgency of my need and he took my arm and prayed for me. He believed for me the promises that I had no longer been able to see and cried the tears that I could not even cry and he quietly wept with me. He grieved with me for a moment and then suddenly I felt a transfer of energy from him to me and he looked tired but I could sit up.

I began to sense that he had bore my burdens at that moment for me and for a moment I had a ray of hope back, a tear came forth and I was able to say thank you to this man. He leaned over now looking himself weary and tired and said ” Wake up! You have a life To live! ”

I felt an urgency to get up and take some water, to make sure he was ok and to carry on with things I needed to do. I told him about the car not starting and he laughed as he seemed to already know why it would not start and as if he knew his role in my life before I did, for that moment anyway. I slowly backed away from his desk as he wiped away the sweat from his brow and sorted through some things in his desk. He encouraged me to go forward now with what was in front of me to do, not for tomorrow or next week but the very thing that was next for me. It seemed so unclear and so foggy just minutes before but now I was clear and energized and ready to move on, to move forward with the rest of my marathon.
This happened to me not long ago, and it will always be an example to me of what bearing another’s burdens means. If just for a moment he was my best friend not a judge, he was willing to take on my pain and shoulder it for just enough time for me to see clear to my next step. He was a true man of faith and I had just seen intercessory prayer happen with my own eyes and felt it in my own spirit.
I don’t know who the person that may be placed in your path in need of such sacrifice is, but I will do my best to be ready for the person placed in my path. That changed my perspective, my chapter was new and ,my hope was renewed in a matter of minutes by someone not just willing to intercede for me, but to then give me a hand up and out to continue on my journey with renewed vision.
Maybe this makes great sense to you, then you know what to do and how to serve. However if like this is unusual and surprising maybe like me you need to look into it further and get prepared because it can mean life and death to someone who might be crossing our path. Thankful today for a man full of faith that stepped in for me at the throne the other day.

Wake Up- You Have A Life To Live!

Leave a Reply

