This 14 Second Video Changed My Life…

My son has been a bull rider since he was 10 years old, and is now only a year away form adulthood. He is stubborn, handsome, smart, and more determined to do what he wants than most and willing to do the work to get there.
Yesterday, we were at one of his bull riding events at a major venue. I did what I do when we go to rodeos. Got my camera ready to tape his ride so he can review them and see what he needs to work on, etc..
Yesterday I had a revelation about my youngest son. He is who he is. He knows the risks, and has carefully taken every precaution to protect himself from injury. Even having done these things, he like most riders, has been busted up many times form being bucked off of a huge mean bull.
I support him. I will always support him. I will not be a dream killer because of my selfish desires to have him protected from any dangers. He is ok with it, so I should be too, in this case. Yet as I was filming this short clip of his 6 second ride, my heart dropped to my feet as I watched this huge bull come within inches of stepping on my boy’s head.
Watch this very quick clip and see what you would feel if it was your child on there. Would you be able to support them, or would you just keep them in a bubble as long as you could to shield them from any harm as long as you could?
I am talking my flesh and blood here, so this is a personal post in that way. I want to know what other parents would feel like watching a child of theirs doing this week after week for years….Input welcome.

How far should we go to support our children’s dreams?

DLMK

Published by: www.dontlabelmykid.wordpress.com

I am a social worker and family coach for 20+ years. I have had around 50 foster kids , worked in every and any type of facility from juvenile centers to clinical treatment centers to schools for expelled youth . I've been successful with starting schools for violent offenders , training hospital staff , entire counties of public school teachers, parents and many more on behavior management and helping families in trouble . I have been honored to speak on many occasions and to teach professionals what is wrong with our systems for kids and adults, and how I was able to have successful outcomes in all the programs that I ran. And yes- I do have all the accolades and awards and pats on the back from high places and degrees but I'm not in this for that recognition. I appreciate the acknowledgement I've received over the years, but I don't even have an " I love me" wall in the office..so I don't even know where those things are anymore ..LOL I have lived a hard life myself and grew up in a very violent and abusive home. My family Is filled with depression , addiction and suicide. I also have had to navigate my way through these areas . I use my own experience to help others. I hope you will join the awesome people who follow me and share their stories. This Is a place to come to keep it real. We all struggle . So on this site we keep it legit. No judgement. What are you waiting for? Follow! tj

Categories Labelling Kids, Motivation, Parenting, Positive Reinforcement, Teenagers!, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , 11 Comments

11 thoughts on “This 14 Second Video Changed My Life…”

  1. I had a praying mother and she died several years ago; but it is only now that I have developed a relationship with God and understand myself the power of prayers I understood sometimes why when my father would shout about a situation, my mother would have little to say to us (my siblings who were bull headed) but smiled and head for her prayer closet.

    For some of us, it took a long while to turn around, depending on the stronghold we were dealing with, but my God I had some mind changes which I thought were my own intelligent self coming to my aide. Now I know the power of prayers, I wonder what else she was praying for that hasn’t manifested in my life again. 🙂 VW

    Like

  2. great posting. I think it is so important to honor each individual. Children come to us as they are and they have so much to teach us in our roles as parents/guardians. You obviously are willing to learn a great deal from what your son is showing you.

    Like

  3. That’s really a tough one. We can’t shield our kids from every danger in the world, but like expecting them to wear their seatbelts, it is our responsibility to keep them as safe as we are able. If you think about it, kids really have the potential to get injured in any sport. There are freak accidents all the time. Heck, even in baseball if they get hit in the head too hard in the wrong place…catastrophic. So, it’s a personal decision. Would I let my son ride a bull. Probably not but it’s just not in his blood. But I bought him a dirtbike. It’s a hard call but if there’s something we really enjoy, I say do it. I am impressed you held the camera so still. I probably would have dropped mine 😉

    Like

    1. Great points! We have always had dirt bikes as well! As far as the camera thing, I cannot take credit, as I always load up on my anti-anxiety meds before he rides..hahaha! Thanks for the comment!
      TjP

      Like

Leave a Reply

