Racism- It Comes In Every Color- Warning- Truth Ahead!

Colored folks. That’s what my grandma used to call black people. She didn’t mean anything negative by it, as a matter of fact she had close friends who were “colored”. I was thinking about the racism that did exist back in the day, the slavery, the separate water fountains, and all. That was racism. It was made clear that negroes were not as worthy to eat or drink in the same place as white folks, or ” crackers ” as we are sometimes called now. I read about some of the terrible things that occurred and shutter to think that they happened to anyone. It was unfair and wrong.
Fast forward to today, I am just as shocked to see the same thing happening but in reverse. Is there a payback movement going on? Do I have to pay for what NONE of my ancestors did? As far back as I can trace, nobody in my family was a slave owner, and some say only 10% of white men did. The rich ones. So why do I have to walk on eggshells around anybody who does not happen to be white? I don’t and I wont. I don’t owe a damn thing to anyone just because I was born a certain color. I act white, talk white, and am proud to be white. I hope black people feel the same about their race. So what is all this hatred for white folks going around, as if this generation caused the problems that existed in the past? Its ridiculous.

If nobody is offended yet, keep reading. I am just getting started. This is my blog and I have a right to say what is on my mind. It relates to kids as well, so all the more I will preach on. I have a very close black friend who is like a mentor to me. She has lived through hard times and shares the stories, yet does not have an angry bone towards me because she senses the respect I have for her, no matter what color she is. She calls me a cracker when we are playing around, and I ask her if I can call her black, or if she changed it back to ” African American” this week. Its all in good fun, no tension. We both agree that it is getting out of control. During the elections for President, we talked Obama. She asked my opinion, and I told her I thought he was a well polished, well spoken, pathological liar who was using the black population to further his agenda, but had no intentions of helping anyone but himself. She told me she tended to agree, but would vote for him just to get a black man in office. We agreed to disagree on that and moved on to a different topic. Had I had the same talk with another person, they may have become offended because I gave my honest opinion. That’s wrong. We live in a place where FREE SPEECH is allowed, and we should be tolerant of everyone’s feelings.

Before I go further, I want to remind those you who don’t know, that during my 24 years as a social worker, and foster parent, I took in about 15 black teens, and about 15 white teens, and a few Hispanics to live with me. I care about everyone, no matter the color. I have spent more time working with minority families, in their homes late at night then I have with whites. We have talked about the fact that the jails are filled with 80% blacks, and whether it is because our system is racist, or because blacks commit more crimes. We talk about real issues, and try to solve real problems.

Most of my black friends are people I can trust, people who still call their close black friends the ” N” word when joking, but I would never want to say that word or think of doing it. You know why? Because I have lived long enough to see that bad hearts come in every color. I know many white people who are called ” rednecks” and they are proud of it, I also know of people that are white, who have bad hearts, and they call black people niggers. I call them trailer trash. Am I wrong?

As a non-racist person, I refuse to do a few things.

1- I refuse to bear the guilt of something that white people did before I was born. I wont.
2- I refuse to discriminate against any color person, when choosing my friends.
3- I wont tolerate racism when it is in my presence. I will point out that someone has a bad heart, but wont call racial names.
4- I will not stop going to my favorite places to eat or hang just because people there are mostly black. It feeds into the whole division thing.
5- I will ALWAYS judge motives, not skin color.

So the point of this post is to remind people that racism can go either way, and at this point in time, I am feeling a shift in culture as if I am labeled bad because I am white, in some circles. It happens to whites too. The other day, I waited in line at an office to get a form turned in to help me with some grants I was applying for. I was the only white person, and about 8 black ladies were in front of me. They all got their forms approved within a minute of approaching the black lady at the window. When I got there, I was told they were not ” accepting ” any more applications! That is racism. I told my friend about it (the black mentor) and she told me to stay right there. She drove up there and reamed the lady a new one, and got my application approved. That is a friend. But why should she have to do that? In 2014?

I guess the same reason she calls me when she needs a similar favor. Its good to have friends like that, but too bad we have to do stuff like that for each other. We had a conversation about the media and celebrities and the way rappers and singers are portraying race today. Some is neutral, and some is flat out hatred. It is a shame we have to consider what color we are before going into certain neighborhoods or places of business. I would rather die standing my ground than be scared to be attacked because of my skin color. I am not intimidated by anyone, and will not allow anyone of any color to make me feel ” less than” for any reason. Whether black or white, African American or Cracker, I wont play the race game. People need to teach their children about these things, and stop this terrible cycle. Instead, the kids I work with are many times racist by age 6 or 7. Sad, very sad.
Last time I spoke to my mentor friend, she greeted me with a playful “cracker” joke, and I responded with a playful, ” I don’t understand ” You People” …..and we talked as usual. It took years to build that, and I don’t recommend greeting strangers with that, but for us, its a way to vent and mock the way things are, not to judge. Make sense? I have a feeling another post like this is on the way in the near future. Let me hear what your thoughts are people?

DLMK

Racism- It Comes In Every Color- Warning- Truth Ahead!

25 thoughts on “Racism- It Comes In Every Color- Warning- Truth Ahead!

  1. Great blog post! All your five items in the ‘I refuse to do a few things’ list are really important. And they are pretty easy to live by.
    Mankind should really know better by now than to judge a book by its cover…

    Like

  2. Speak it! I absolutely agree especially with the retribution part. I also don’t get it. I feel bad, really I do but I didn’t personally do anything wrong and the people continuing to carry this through our generation have not been harmed so wth! Anyway, kudos to you for taking on this subject. It’s a difficult one for sure. And I agree, good and bad comes in all colors and I see someone’s heart and kindness long before I notice the color of someone’s skin

    Like

    • Not feed into it. Not buy into the things the media and celebrities say. And a big problem is young girls feeling drawn to become someone’s B&%$#! That’s what many music videos do, portray young women as nothing more than a toy. We need to educate our kids on what is happening. Just one thought.

      Like

Leave a Reply

