How To Change Your Life…For Good!

How To Change Your Life...For Good!

When is enough really enough? I get home and the first thing I do is flip the light on, then I kick my shoes off by the door, I fix a large diet soda with ice, and hit the power button on the laptop to see what is new.
This is my routine when I get home from a day out. I am tired of routine, mundane living, so I mixed it up last week and kept my shoes on until after I had my drink, and left the light off. Sadly I did not feel the winds of change bursting through my veins, just left in the dark for the whole 5 minutes of the experience.
Small thinking equals small results. So I decided to make some even bigger changes and risk everything, change my thinking, change the way I see things, the way I view my family, my country, and other things that have an impact on my daily decisions. The thing is, change is a bit of work! As it turns out, it actually requires discipline and a reset of our brain every now and again.
People have written books on how to make changes in life, how to adjust to changes, how to adjust to the adjustments, and so on. Nothing wrong with that, but here is a thought on change- Change is all about what you decide to think, and what you direct yourself to dwell on. It is simply difficult, and hardly easy, change that is.
Socrates made a statement (so I hear) that the key to change is to focus on building the new , not fighting the old. I think there is much truth in this and we all can learn something about looking back at what went wrong so much. We focus on what did not happen instead of what can be, what should have been different instead of what we can make different. Its a problem with all of us, the pity party about the past and the lack of vision for the future. The changes we need to make do not require extensive study and books, they require discipline and resolve. We decide to view what may come about instead of what was once a maybe and we move forward. Sometimes we get so stuck in the past, looking back that we trip on our journey forward. Whatever you need change in, why not today, why not now? Waiting for a sign? Here is your sign- Just do it!

DLMK

5 thoughts on “How To Change Your Life…For Good!”

    1. Joe-
      First off thanks for your comment and sharing your struggle. Opening up to others is a great way to take a first step! I would love to take a look at your blog later on today. I will be in touch!
      TjP

      Like

  1. In any moment, all that is eternal is present; looking back to the past, nothing is real; of course the future is thereby a reflection of the past when this is all that we do is think about the past and the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

