Addiction- Why NA and AA Are Helping you FAIL at recovery.

First off, I want to mention that addiction is a very big part of today’s world, and recovery options are a plenty. Having been through the nightmare myself, and growing up around it, I will say that this article is not just an objective viewpoint. I have done my 30 in 30, my 90 in 90 and all the things that go with it over a decade ago when I was a drinker. I will share personal experiences as well as hard data that shows how people do little more than become better alcoholics and drug addicts while following secular 12 step programs. I exclude religious 12 step programs because the success rates are much different in many that rely on God for assistance.

So before you quit reading, I am simply pointing out facts, not my opinion here. When I was attending AA meetings, al I can recall is confessing out loud that I was stricken with this disease and I could not help myself. I was more convinced that ever that it was a hopeless cause and I would be a heavy drinker for ever. Yet I still obeyed the rules and went to the meetings faithfully, and hung out with 50 or 60 other depressed people awaiting their turn to confess out loud that they were a hopeless addict.

I have done a few pieces on this blog on why WORDS have the power of life and death in them. This, in my opinion, has 100% to do with why these programs fail at miserable rates, some say as high as 95%. Some even higher. Even the 1 person out of 100 that may end up clean has always attributed the victory to an outside support, such as a spouse, or God, or something other than earning plastic chips for staying clean another month. Am I really saying that NA and AA is a complete failure? I will let you read the article with the data to support it, so you can decide….please do take the time to see some of these amazing statistics on the subject. Again, this is not my opinion, so do not shoot the messenger! However if you or someone you care about is in a 12 step program, you really should read this and share with a s many as you can. It may just help them out of the  ” addicted to meetings ” cycle. please do share your comments and experiences, of course using supporting data provided, as a baseline. Thanks for checking this out and I hope and pray many will be affected and enabled by reading this!

http://www.orange-papers.org/orange-effectiveness.html

DLMK

Leave a Reply

