Does my child need medicine for behavior problems? Do I?

Wow. I don’t really know where to begin on this one, as the medicine proponents and the medicine opponents both present good cases on some of the issues. I am presenting this very detailed article about medicine, disorders, clinical trials, etc.   http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/childbehaviordisorders.html

One thing many people do not know is that drug companies are working just as hard to get new drugs for kids and adults out there, as the anti-drug people are trying to teach people how to manage some disorders with talk therapy and behavioral techniques. The problem is that getting a drug approved by the FDA is (allegedly) based on who is trying to get it by them. Although they put on a pretty good front that they have strict clinical trial requirements, the truth is when Eli-Lily comes forward with their “data” to support  a new drug for kids with conduct disorder, their seems to be a lack of public exposure to any of the trials, or if the trials are published, the results are worded something like this;

“After rigorous testing and a sample group trial of 500 volunteers who qualified for the 6 month trial, it was determined that of the 500 with similar symptoms, more than 50% reported noticing a positive impact on their behavior. ( This is where they want you to say WOW! I need to get that!)

The following sample statement, or one similar may be used to close the deal while quietly revealing the real truth of the outcomes.

” After monitoring patients daily x 3, for 6 months in a controlled environment, it was determined that 267 patients reported a 25% improvement in their behavior.

200 patients reported at least a 15% increase in positive behavior.

31 patients reported at least a 10% increase in positive behavior

*2 patients did not finish clinical trial.

So, I am not going to belabor the point, by going even deeper into the politics and money involved in the drug industry, but will cut to the chase. The information presented to the FDA could easily meet criteria for the FDA to approve the drug, and has been done all the time. Whats the problem? Read the results again and break them down. It would be more transparent to state it this way- ” After running clinical trial on 500 patients who all met criteria for this research study, it was found that about half of the patients noticed at least a 10% increase in positive behavior, and some reported as high as a 25% improvement!”

So, lets break this down. I see a commercial on television or read an article about a drug that is supposed to help with the symptoms I or my child has. I am interested. I read on, and even check the results of the trial in the article and it says more than 50% of all those tested reported a positive outcome from this drug. Wow! I have a 50/50 chance of my child or myself getting help from this! You go to the doctor, and show the article and he agrees to try it, and may even give you free samples that just happened to have arrived from the pharmaceutical rep. Even better. The doc tells you it may take 6 weeks to reach “therapeutic” levels. He gives you a script for next month. You have now left the doctor hopeful, excited, knowing you have a 50/50 shot at seeing a change on this medicine! The hard cold truth, is that you have left the office with a script that you may have a 50% chance of experiencing at least a 10% change in behavior, possibly up to a 25% change. In regular talk, it means if you or a child you have has 20 tantrums a day, you, if you fall into the 50%, may see only 18 tantrums per day, and at very best see only 14 -15 tantrums per day! Is that going to give you relief? I can reduce my child’s behavior my 20% anytime I want just by taking them to the library. Its quiet there, and even the most problematic people whether adults or kids can adjust their behavior according to the environment they are put in.

So there it is. A short snapshot of what can and does happen behind the scenes. What will you think the next time you see a drug ad that seems perfect for you, and is backed with decent numbers? That is not my decision, but is is my duty to share the truth on here, and that’s what I am doing here. Are drugs all bad? I doubt it. Are drugs extremely misleading when advertised, for sure. So what now? If you are facing a situation that involves medicine or behavioral issues for kids or adults, contact me to save yourself thousands of dollars and years of experimenting. I can help you personally, just click here and I will stay with you until you no longer need help. http://www.gofundme.com/hiptim

 

Published by: www.dontlabelmykid.wordpress.com

I am a social worker and family coach for 20+ years. I have had around 50 foster kids , worked in every and any type of facility from juvenile centers to clinical treatment centers to schools for expelled youth . I've been successful with starting schools for violent offenders , training hospital staff , entire counties of public school teachers, parents and many more on behavior management and helping families in trouble . I have been honored to speak on many occasions and to teach professionals what is wrong with our systems for kids and adults, and how I was able to have successful outcomes in all the programs that I ran. And yes- I do have all the accolades and awards and pats on the back from high places and degrees but I'm not in this for that recognition. I appreciate the acknowledgement I've received over the years, but I don't even have an " I love me" wall in the office..so I don't even know where those things are anymore ..LOL I have lived a hard life myself and grew up in a very violent and abusive home. My family Is filled with depression , addiction and suicide. I also have had to navigate my way through these areas . I use my own experience to help others. I hope you will join the awesome people who follow me and share their stories. This Is a place to come to keep it real. We all struggle . So on this site we keep it legit. No judgement. What are you waiting for? Follow! tj

Categories Medicine for Kids, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

