What is this Don’t Label My Kid! blog all about?

Recently, a few people have inquired about this blog, and what exactly the goal is of having it out here anyway. I am briefly sharing why we are here. I have been a professional in the Social Work/ Mental Health field for 25 years. I have worked front line with people who have the most severe disabilities both mentally and physically that you can imagine. I have also spent a dozen years working with very troubled families, teens, gang members, and kids who just had a variety of problems that needed to be addressed.

I have worked with psychiatrists, psychologists, other clinicians, hundreds of families in crisis, adults with mental health issues like depression or anxiety, and actually have been a live- in foster parent to six of these teens at a time, for about 5 years, allowing me to work daily and live with about 25 foster kids in my home. I am certified 4x as a Family Teacher, I have built motivation systems and behavior modification programs for hospitals, for schools, and mostly for private families who have exhausted every idea they had , but cannot get the kids under control, or they themselves are in need of support. I have been the problem solver for these people. I have done the best job I could to help people, through my own advice, other resources, and on going support from me, as a Social Worker and seem to have done some good while enjoying helping people solve their problems. I have resources in every area of behaviors, mental health issues, teen problems, depression and anything listed in the DSM.

My passion in all this, is to see people avoid labels or diagnoses if possible, and to help people who actually need or have a diagnoses to overcome the stigma that can come with a label. Thus, I am pro Don’t Label My Kid! Sometimes it has to be done to control situations, but many times we can get to the root problem without getting tagged my a doctor, who after a 45 minute session may label you with 3 or 4 different mental health diagnoses. These labels are potentially difficult for some to overcome, and often diagnosed way too early, or without all the facts. I know this because I am the one who qualified people for mental health diagnoses when I worked for several psychiatrists. Things are not always as they appear, and there are big drug companies involved now, pushing big drugs on doctors who in turn sometimes pass on to patients through diagnosing them with a DSM-V disorder. I have tried to make a difference in the lives of others, had success, and want to continue doing just that. Contact me so we can tackle what you have to face. Never face it alone.

I have worked and will work with any population. You may see articles about other age groups on http://www.dontlabelmykid.wordpress.com as the stigma can apply to any age group. Follow along and see what things we can help you with!

I can also be reached by email – tjpetri@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

